Picky AmBADASSadors

Chris Garcia

San Jose, California

Primary Discipline(s) Road Cycling / Criterium, Mountain Biking, Skiing, Hiking
Bucket List RaceLeadville 100, PCT, Skiing the fjords in Norway
Favorite Picky Bars productMint Condition - refreshing and tasty!
Off-Day ActivityHiking / Dog walks or indoor trainer spin, beer drinking with friends, time with the wifey!

I've been an outdoor enthusiast and on the go since my parents brought me into this world. I took my first steps at 8 months and haven't stopped since. As work goes I'm tied to a desk most days meeting with customers and selling cyber security solutions but when that window opens to get outside I'm there. Be that cycling, hiking, mushroom hunting or just heading to the park I'm a better human when I'm outside and exercising.

I'm not a pro, I'm not interested in being a pro, I just want to be the best me possible and to ride, hike and enjoy the world with friends - that and to convince my wife to let me always buy just one more bike.

I've been backpacking and hiking since my youth but was dragged into mountain biking, begrudgingly by my brother about four years ago. That lit a flame I didn't know I had and before I knew it my world shifted to trying to find ways to mountain bike as often as possible... then I found out about racing. While training for my second race ever, a gravel ride, I separated my shoulder a month out while mountain biking. With dirt off the table I borrowed my brothers road bike to continue training and fell in love all over again and stay in shape for the race - 55 miles, 8000 feet and a rented Ibis Hakka - shh don't tell the shop!

At this point my free time is spent biking whenever possible whether that's dirt or road it's where my heart is. As my wife has said to me before: "I didn't realize how much more I like you after a ride, you are a happier person, you should do more of that."