Picky AmBADASSadors

Sarah Jane Kerwin

Glenwood Springs, Colorado

Primary Discipline(s) Road Running, Trail Running, Track and Field, Skiing, Hiking, Yoga, Climbing
Bucket List RaceHood to Coast/any team relay! Also I want to do a lot more trail racing
Favorite Picky Bars productAll-In Almond
Off-Day ActivityExercise: hiking or swimming. Non-exercise: hanging out in a beer garden with friends

Hi! My name is Sarah Jane and I'm a fourth year PhD at the University of Michigan, currently living in Colorado and working remotely. I'm studying English, with a focus on environmentalism and the U.S. West, and in my spare time I spend as much time as I can outside. I'm primarily a runner (trails, bike paths, roads, the track...you name it and I'll be there -- every. dang. day. -- although I'm particularly partial to trails). I also do a decent amount of hiking -- I worked in Glacier National Park for three summers, and spent the first 6 months of COVID in Steamboat Springs, Colorado -- and (in pre-COVID times) some rock climbing and skiing. I ran DIII cross country at Oberlin College, and was on a North Carolina state championship cross country team at Chapel Hill High School. My mom, Joan Nesbit, was a professional runner back in the day and we have an ongoing joke that running is the family business; it's also the community where I've found most of my friends in life. I'm really struggling without races right now, but I'm doing what I can to stay in shape and stay tapped into the running community, including finally caving and getting a Strava account (although I'm still only logging a couple runs a week right now). My college roommate and teammate just had a baby, and I sent her a variety pack of picky pars to give her an energy boost as she juggles everything going on in her life right now. Needless to say, she was thrilled!